Saturday, May 18, 2013

Writers Competition Winners Named

Winners in the 2013 Writers Competition at the Coeur d’Alene Public Library, front row, left to right, Alexis Faith Sausser, Julian Conigliaro, Emily Dodd, Jeffrey Olmo, Kyle Bettis, and Aspen Brook Rogers; middle row, Mackenzie Beaver, Aleesa McArthur, Alexsandra J. Logan, Micaela Ruff, Sabrina Smith, and Emily Kay Welter; back row, Colleen Preston, Skip Frazier, Tammy Sonnen, and Jennifer Rova. Not pictured: Thomas Hersey, Nayana Marie Stark, Makendra Patzer, Marge Huntington, Bendi Schrambach, Wyatt Holloway, Jackson Holloway, Myah Rietze, Jessica Gates, Justin Gates, Cody Petellin, Casy Hastings, and Jennifer Shook.
Coeur d’Alene Library Marks 25th Year of Annual Contest with Ceremony

The winners of the 25th annual Writers Competition at the Coeur d’Alene Public Library were recognized Saturday, May 18, in a ceremony hosted y the Friends of the Library.
Winners received cash prizes supported by grants from the Coeur d’Alene Kiwanis Club and the Friends of the Library -- $100 for first, $50 for second, and $25 for third. In case of ties full duplicate prizes are awarded.
Writing entries are fiction and nonfiction prose of 2,000 words or less. Entires are judged by volunteers who are professional writers, editors, and educators. About 150 entries were submitted in age groups ranging from 6 to adult for the 2013 competition.
The winners were:
19-Plus Fiction: First, Jennifer Shook, Athol, “The Monday List” – Second, Skip Frazier, Post Falls, “One Reel Eye” – Third, Tammy L. Sonnen, Coeur d’Alene, “A New Beginning.”
15-18 Fiction: First, Casey Hastings, Coeur d’Alene, “Joe” – Second, Emily Kay Welter, Rathdrum, “Sweet Success” – Third, Micaela Ruf, Post Falls, “My Story.”                  
12-14 Fiction: First, Cody S. Petellin, Dalton Gardens, “Premonition” – Second, Justin Gates, Hayden, “Pony Express Trail” – Third, Jackson Holloway, Coeur d’Alene, “Ball of Light.”
9-11 Fiction: First, Jessica Gates, Hayden, “Home in Apple Tree Mill” – Second (tie), Jeffrey Olmo, Hauser, “The Battle of the Border” - Second (tie), Myah J. Rietze, Coeur d’Alene, “Star”- Third, Wyatt Holloway, Coeur d’Alene, “Got Ya!”
6-8 Fiction: First, Thomas Hersey, Coeur d’Alene, “My Cow, Bonnie” – Second, Emily Dodd, Coeur d’Alene, “My First Hamster” – Third, Julian Conigliaro, Coeur d’Alene, “Sled Dog.”
19-Plus Nonfiction: First, Bendi Benson Schrambach, Hayden, “French Lingerie” – Second (tie), Marge Huntington, Spokane Valley, “Snow Day”- Second (tie), Colleen Preston, Coeur d’Alene, “Accidental Foster Parents” – Third, Jennifer Rova, Hayden Lake, “Why Americans Speak American English.”
15-18 Nonfiction: First, Sabrina Smith, Rathdrum, “A Civil Duty” -  Second, Alexsandra J. Logan, Spokane, “In the Middle of the Pack” – Third, Makendra Patzer, Coeur d’Alene, “Can’t Doesn’t Exist.”                
12-14 Nonfiction: First, Aleesa S. McArthur, Post Falls, “A Race for the Cure” - Second, Mackenzie Beaver, Post Falls, “My Best Friend and His Wonderful Life” – Third, Nayana Marie Stark, Hayden, “He Called, I Answered.”    
9-11 Nonfiction: First, Jeffrey Olmo, Hauser,  “Light Phenomenon” – Second, Kyle Bettis, Post Falls, “My Alaska Adventure” – Third, Aspen Brooke Rogers, Coeur d’Alene, “Minute Marvels: Hummingbirds.”
6-8 Nonfiction: First, Thomas Hersey, Coeur d’Alene, “Farm Living is the Life for Me” -  Second, Alexis Faith Sausser, Rathdrum, “Playing With Ginger” - Third, Tytus Barnhart, Athol, “Miracle Boy.”

For more library information visit The library is a department of the City of Coeur d’Alene and a member of the Cooperative Information Network, Library Director, Bette Ammon. Library hours: Monday to Thursday, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m./Friday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m./Saturday and Sunday, noon to 4 p.m. For regular updates follow the library on Facebook and Twitter.