Saturday, May 22, 2010

2010 Writers Competition Winners Recognized

Writers Competition winners, left to right, back row, Nona C. Babcock, Ernest Ewing, Holly Ann Cooley–Nelson, Tina Rodeen, Kenneth A. Green, Braden James Heiner, Bethany M. Harryman, Kaye Thornbrugh, third row, Priscilla Ruth Cotton, Jessica T. Fox, Elizabeth Rognaldson, Austin A. Petellin, Abbie Hochberger, Jordyn Nichelle McCracken, Emma Ployhar, Lauren Taylor Foley, second row, Garrett Oetkin, Sydney Madsen, Hannah Rose Daniels, Katy Gribbin, Megan Schlaefer, Mollie Haman, Ashley Bennett, Marion Rognaldson, front row, Jessica Gates, Kate DuCoeur, Carolyn P. Fish, Toriana Wilson,. Not pictured: Marge Huntington, Emily Christensen and Jillian Joy Hoffman.

The winners of the 2010 Writers Competition at the Coeur d’Alene Public Library were recognized Saturday, May 22, during a ceremony hosted by the Friends of the Library.
The competition is in its 22nd year. The program was begun by former Library Director Julie Meier with the goal of encouraging excellence in writing and “to discover great writers living among us."
Writers submit fiction and nonfiction entries of 2,000 words or less in age groups ranging from 6 years to adult.
Cash prizes were first awarded by Hecla Mining Co. and more recently have been provided by the Coeur d’Alene Kiwanis Club. Prizes include $100 for first, $50 for second and $25 for third. In case of matching scores, duplicate prizes of the full amount are awarded. Based on scores, first-place prizes may not be awarded in every category and age group.
The entries are judged each year by volunteers who include published authors, journalists, editors and writing educators.
The winners and their entries are:
6–8 Fiction: First, Carolyn P. Fish, Worley, “The Fairies” – Second (tie) Kate DuCoeur, Coeur d’Alene, “Can We Go?” – Second (tie), Toriana Wilson, Coeur d’Alene, “Fairy Problems” – Third, Jessica Gates, Hayden, “Little Pond Frog.”
9–11 Fiction: First, Hannah Rose Daniels, Hayden, “Fantasticalia” – Second, Sydney Madsen, Coeur d’Alene, “The Start of Golden Hills” – Third, Lauren Taylor Foley, Coeur d’Alene, “In the Eye of the Storm”
12–14 Fiction: First (tie), $100, Jordyn Nichelle McCracken, Coeur d’Alene, “Leslie and the Lorax” – First (tie), Emma Ployhar, Coeur d’Alene, “The Real Treasure Down Under” – Second, Abbie Hochberger, Dalton Gardens, “A Matter of Trust” – Third, Jillian Joy Hoffman, Hayden, “My Angel.”
15–18 Fiction: First, Kaye Thornbrugh, Hayden, “Tardy Party: A Happy Accident” – Second, Bethany M. Harryman, Athol, “Fire Flight” – Third, Braden James Heiner, Hayden, “Phone Call”
19–Plus Fiction: First, Tina Rodeen, Spokane, “What Happens to Him?” - Second, Holly Ann Cooley–Nelson, Coeur d’Alene, “The Bracelets” – Third (tie), Nona C. Babcock, Clinton, Mont., “The Bug–B–Cue” – Third (tie) Ernest Ewing, Hayden Lake, “Real Friends.”
6–8 Nonfiction: First, Marion Rognaldson, Worley, “Max and I” – Second, Ashley Bennett, Hayden, “Black Eared Mouse” – Third, Mollie Haman, Dalton Gardens, “The Water Slide.”
9–11 Nonfiction: First, Garrett Oetkin, Coeur d’Alene, “The Boy Who Could Fly” – Second, Megan Schlaefer, Post Falls, “My Trip to Las Vegas.” – Third, Katy Gribbin, Post Falls, “Facts About Three Animals.”
12–14 Nonfiction: First, Austin A. Petellin, Dalton Gardens, “Vacation” – Second, Jillian Joy Hoffman, Hayden, “The Coward”– Third, Emily Christensen, Post Falls, “A Remarkable Companionship.”
15–18 Nonfiction: Second (tie), Jessica T. Fox, Rathdrum, “Homelessness in America”– Second (tie), Elizabeth Rognaldson, Worley, “A Christian Perspective on Prayer In Public School” – Third, Priscilla Ruth Cotton, Moscow, “Idaho’s Unique Features.”
19–Plus Nonfiction: Second, Kenneth A. Green, Coeur d’Alene, “Execution” – Third, Marge Huntington, Spokane Valley, “Downtown.”

More news and information about the library is available online at